Welcome, Guest!

Here are some links you may find helpful

DTL-H90000A PS2 menu “Select region for game to be developed”

dickibow

Member
Registered
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
24
Points
3
Location
UK
AG User Name
Dickibow
AG Join Date
February 25, 2005
Hi all,

I have a PS2 debugging station (DTL-H90000A) and I just put in a PS1 NTSC-J game “Let’s go by Train 2” and also plugged in the weird PS1 train controller that was bundled with the game. During boot up of the console if I fiddle with the train throttle on the control pad I get a menu popping up on the PS2 that says “Select region to be developed”. There are a selection of regions to choose from ranging from:

NTSC U/C
NTSC J (JP)
NTSC J (KR)
NTSC J (AS)
PAL (EU)
PAL (RU)

The current setting is: NTSC U/C.

I’ve always thought it odd that PS1 games from PAL regions didn’t display properly so wondering if I can select PAL (EU) and then run a PAL game with the correct display not being off-centred. That would be cool. EDIT: yes, it appears the region can be changed.

Has anyone got any further information regarding this menu and what it does exactly? Has anyone seen it before? I’m sure there is a proper way to get into this menu and I’ll do some more fiddling/testing but so far with a regular PS2 controller I can’t replicate it. I couldn’t find anything on google either. I added a photo for reference.

EDIT: yep, it seems that during boot up, if you press L1/L2/R1/R2 all at the same time when the console displays “Sony Computer Entertainment” you can change the region. In all my years I had no idea you could do this! Ha!

P.S I posted this on AG too because I wasn’t sure if anyone still uses it?! Are most ex AG people here these days?image.jpgimage.jpg
 
Last edited:

psydefx

Well-known member
Registered
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
19
Points
8
AG User Name
psydefx
AG Join Date
March 27, 2016
neat. ill try and see if it can be done on my dtl-h70011s
 

Tokimemofan

Well-known member
Registered
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
27
Points
18
Does not work on my DTL-H10100 or DTL-H30101, if I had to guess this may have been added as a feature when they put the region in the eeprom, if that’s the case it may not exist below DTL-H750xx
 

dickibow

Member
Registered
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
24
Points
3
Location
UK
AG User Name
Dickibow
AG Join Date
February 25, 2005
If I had to guess this may have been added as a feature when they put the region in the eeprom, if that’s the case it may not exist below DTL-H750xx

Yes, also from the 75xxxA and 90000A series the NTSC or PAL designator was removed from the rear serial information sticker. In addition to what Tokimemofan said I’m willing to bet it’s only those consoles that have this feature. PS2 consoles auto switch output between NTSC and PAL but not when playing a PS1 game. If you change the region in the menu you can output PAL or NTSC PS1 games perfectly.
 

Tokimemofan

Well-known member
Registered
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
27
Points
18
Yes, also from the 75xxxA and 90000A series the NTSC or PAL designator was removed from the rear serial information sticker. In addition to what Tokimemofan said I’m willing to bet it’s only those consoles that have this feature. PS2 consoles auto switch output between NTSC and PAL but not when playing a PS1 game. If you change the region in the menu you can output PAL or NTSC PS1 games perfectly.
That would also explain why no one has mentioned this before, most debugs people have are old ones
 

Thebigman1106

Member
Registered
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
15
Points
3
AG User Name
thebigman1106
AG Join Date
01072010
This is amazing! I've owned debug ps2 units for years, ever known this.

Thanks!
 
shape1
shape2
shape3
shape4
shape5
shape6
Top