Welcome, Guest!

Here are some links you may find helpful

Dreamcast GDEMU info

megavolt85

DreamShell Developer
Registered
Jun 17, 2019
209
558
93
www.dc-swat.ru
@sonik you are reading my thoughts, I have long wanted to suggest switching to gdi for GDMENU
this will allow you to easily change themes and you can create a combined GDMENU + codebreaker image
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony817

Anthony817

Well-known member
Community Contributor
Registered
Jun 2, 2019
398
540
93
@sonik you are reading my thoughts, I have long wanted to suggest switching to gdi for GDMENU
this will allow you to easily change themes and you can create a combined GDMENU + codebreaker image

Wait, how would that work vs the way it is in .CDI? Just curious how making it in .GDI will allow us to have a combined image with codebreaker? How is this possible as one format over the other? Just really curious. I think you know myself and many others over the years have long wanted codebreaker support in GDMENU. That would be such a dream come true if this could happen. ;)

Edit: Ok I think I understand now after reading this post again.

GDMENU mount low density as directory cd, high density as directory gd
list.ini find only in cd

So basically the GDMENU would be in the low density part of the disc, while the Codebreaker would be in the high density part? This in effect would allow the Codebreaker to always load after we make our game selection in GDMENU thus allowing us to add any codes we wanted right?
 

megavolt85

DreamShell Developer
Registered
Jun 17, 2019
209
558
93
www.dc-swat.ru
@Anthony817 no, this is not the same as what you saw in the screenshots of the unreleased version of neirocaid
I am constantly bothered by the first item of GDMENU, why launch the menu from the menu
1) we will change the name in IP.BIN to CodeBreaker
2) I will change the GDMENU code so that it would consider the first image as a native codebreaker disk
3) I will make a GDI image with GDMENU and codebreaker

codebreaker will be in track03, GDMENU in track04 for quick replacement so that you can update the theme without rebuilding the image, and list.ini will be in track01
 

Anthony817

Well-known member
Community Contributor
Registered
Jun 2, 2019
398
540
93
Oh yes I figured it would not be like how neuroacids built in menu was going to be. I know expecting that is not really so easy. But the way you explain it to be done using the actual codebreaker disc menu sounds like a much needed alternative for it. Man I just want to say, you are really on a roll already this year. If 2020 was great for Dreamcast, I can't wait to see the stuff you have planned for this year.
 

sonik

Well-known member
Registered
Jul 24, 2019
50
30
18
Menu worked with list in track01! Yay!
When updating track01 the start address still needs to be updated in the gdi file right?
 

FamilyGuy

2049 Donator
Donator
Registered
May 31, 2019
333
330
63
Menu worked with list in track01! Yay!
When updating track01 the start address still needs to be updated in the gdi file right?
As long as some zero padding is made in advance, there should be no need to move the tracks around. Just rebuild the wanted track and merge the TOC, or directly edit track03 TOC to inject the new file size.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sonik