• Good day, Guest!
    Flowers in Chania

    OG is raising money to form a non profit community interest company enabling us to preserve more history than ever before!

    Unfortunately, like most things in life this is going to cost money and we're asking for some help from the community. All users will be given donator status, along with early updates and depending on how much you help us with we'll try to chuck in some free merch!

    This will cost us roughly $850 for two years including business address/phone number etc which is needed to register a business bank account within the UK.

    You can help us by making a custom pledge, or by making a general pledge as it all helps us greatly. We're happy for a one time donators via Ko-Fi, Patreon asks monthly so please be aware. To prevent charge backs we're unable to accept Paypal at this time. Although once live this will be sorted too!

    One time donations can be sent via our Ko-Fi,



    Or for monthly please visit our Patreon, Ko-Fi is preferred as they charge us less fee's. Become a Patron of Obscure Gamers!
  • The Obscure Gamers 2020 Light and Dark themes are now live! Please report any bugs and make any suggestions you may have to a member of staff.

PS3 Installing bigger HDD on debug PS3?

Arcadia

AG Refugee
Refugee
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
122
Reaction score
54
AG User Name
Arcadia
I want to swap my 60GB HDD in my debug PS3, but all guides on how to do this relates only to commercial PS3's, and as far as I can tell this option doesn't exist on the debugs. I can clone the hard drive of course, but that means I won't be able to utilise the extra disk space.

Has anyone done this? Am I better off switching to rebug, seeing as I won't use this to develop games?
 

JustAnyone

2020 Donator
2020 Donator
2019 Donator
Refugee
Registered
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
32
AG User Name
mindaugasgt
AG Join Date
Jul 10, 2018
i think you should just put in another hdd, and give DEX ofw file as an ps3 update file and that's it.
 

HI_RICKY

2019 Donator
2019 Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
203
Reaction score
164
AG User Name
HI_Ricky
AG Join Date
Jun 7, 2007
if you A00A , swap it , it will ask format at next boot up
if J00A , you need usb ready firmware install
 
Last edited:

Arcadia

AG Refugee
Refugee
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
122
Reaction score
54
AG User Name
Arcadia
i think you should just put in another hdd, and give DEX ofw file as an ps3 update file and that's it.
Does it need to be formatted to FAT32 or some other file system?
 

JustAnyone

2020 Donator
2020 Donator
2019 Donator
Refugee
Registered
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
32
AG User Name
mindaugasgt
AG Join Date
Jul 10, 2018
Does it need to be formatted to FAT32 or some other file system?
doesnt matter, can be even unformatted
but flash drive with update file should be
 

JustAnyone

2020 Donator
2020 Donator
2019 Donator
Refugee
Registered
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
32
AG User Name
mindaugasgt
AG Join Date
Jul 10, 2018
glad to hear :)
 
Top