Welcome, Guest!

Here are some links you may find helpful

NES NASA and Creation NES clone mods

SaturnHST

Member
Original poster
Jun 4, 2019
8
8
3
I have these NASA and Creation NES clones that are PAL 50Hz and I want to mod them to NTSC 60Hz. From what I've read, it's possible to convert a PAL NES to NTSC by swapping out the CPU, PPU and crystal oscillator for the NTSC equivalent from a US NES or Famicom. Does that apply to these NES clones? They do have cloned CPU and PPU (TA-02NP, TA-03NP1, UA6538, UA6527P).
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0703.JPG
    IMG_0703.JPG
    3.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0704.JPG
    IMG_0704.JPG
    4.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0705.JPG
    IMG_0705.JPG
    4.2 MB · Views: 0
  • Like
Reactions: Getta Robo

SaturnHST

Member
Original poster
Jun 4, 2019
8
8
3
I managed to desolder the CPU, PPU and crystal from a US NES and install them on one of the clones. The clone chips were already socketed so that made it easier. Now it is NTSC 60Hz and works on all US tv's.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0718.JPG
    IMG_0718.JPG
    4.2 MB · Views: 0

SaturnHST

Member
Original poster
Jun 4, 2019
8
8
3
I have another NASA clone, but this one uses a NOAC unlike the others. Any ideas on how to change this to NTSC 60Hz? On the board there are jumpers marked "P/N". I am assuming I need to change the crystal for a NTSC one and join all 3 jumpers?

Also I noticed that behind the NES cartridge connector, there were unpopulated holes for an additional Famicom cartridge connector.

I have seen some other variants of this that has a top loading Famicom slot as well: http://www.nesworld.com/pirate-ns90a.php

I took a chance and ordered a Famicom cartridge connector, soldered it in, and to my surprise it works. So now this has 3 cartridge slots: front loading NES slot, top loading Famicom slot, and internal Famicom "built-in" games slot. Next I will try to cut a hole in the top casing for the new slot.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0782.JPG
    IMG_0782.JPG
    4.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0784.JPG
    IMG_0784.JPG
    3.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0785.JPG
    IMG_0785.JPG
    4.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0786.JPG
    IMG_0786.JPG
    4.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0787.JPG
    IMG_0787.JPG
    4.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0788.JPG
    IMG_0788.JPG
    4.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0789.JPG
    IMG_0789.JPG
    4.6 MB · Views: 0
  • Like
Reactions: L2000

GatOber

Member
Jun 23, 2019
7
0
1
AGName
WarRen22
AG Join Date
Feb 23, 2008
I'm Pretty sure that "creations" here in chile are all 60Hz.
 

Ice Man

Well-known member
Registered
Jun 8, 2019
100
8
18
AGName
Ice Man
AG Join Date
Dec 4, 2017
Very interesting. A console with both, NES and FC slot. First time seeing such thing. Famiclones never disappoint. :p
 

Getta Robo

Active member
Registered
Jun 1, 2019
25
25
13
AGName
Getta Robo
AG Join Date
Sep 29, 2008
The MrJamu has done the same to his clones, you might want to send him a message, he's very helpful and knowledgeable.
 

SaturnHST

Member
Original poster
Jun 4, 2019
8
8
3
Yeah I've seen that, but he changed it from PAL 50Hz to PAL 60Hz. I'm changing mine to NTSC 60Hz. Also, that mod only works for the "TA" series clone chips and will not work on the "UM" series chips.

So far I've converted three of the discrete chip clones by swapping in the NTSC version chips. I'm not sure how to change the NOAC clone.
 

Getta Robo

Active member
Registered
Jun 1, 2019
25
25
13
AGName
Getta Robo
AG Join Date
Sep 29, 2008
I believe he also owns that clone too, and in addition being very knowledgeable he is also very helpful. You should drop him a message and see if you could work things out.
 

Make a donation